The Gate

Gate, iron gateAfghans move from one sadness and difficulty to the next.  I used to feel that Afghani lives were so hard because they were often poor refugees in a foreign land.  Over the years I’ve discovered it’s much more than that.  I think the spiritual climate of their lives lends itself to sadness and difficulty.  I’m often reminded of John 10:10.  “The thief comes to kill, steal and destroy…”  What a contrast with the last half of the verse that says what Jesus came to bring, life in all its fullness, or abundance.

Lady Nightingale

*********************************************

The Gate

9 I am the gate; whoever enters through me will be saved.[a] They will come in and go out, and find pasture. 10 The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.

Leave a Reply

